No matches

photo by: ESL

Forward Gaming continue their dominance in the North American region and clinch a second qualifier victory in a week span. Last night’s ESL One Birmingham finals win is actually their third, if we take into consideration the championship title of Qi Invitational Americas, an online league with $10,000 on the line and a slot into LAN finals scheduled for July.

Going through a rather big shuffle only last month, after the DreamLeague Major, Forward has welcomed three new players to their ranks and started the second half of the season with a hard defeat in the MDL Disneyland® Paris Major qualifiers. Right after that, they went on claiming the NA spot for the OGA Dota PIT Minor, which will give them another shot at making it to the Major in Paris, and now they have booked themselves a trip to the United Kingdom by winning the ESL One Birmingham NA qualifiers. The finals were held against compLexity Gaming who started with one game advantage on the back of their perfect run through the upper bracket. Four teams competed for the one slot available for Birmingham and FWD were knocked down in the lower bracket rounds by Team Team. However, they cut through J.Storm and took revenge over TT to join coL in the finals. The series went all the way up to decisive game four after coL bounced back in game three. FWD’s victory will have them joining the 12 teams line-up for ESL One Birmingham event which will unfold May 28th – June 2nd at Arena Birmingham.

Eight squads have received direct invites from the organizers with four more joining via regional qualifiers.

ESL One Birmingham attending teams:

  • Vici Gaming (direct invite)
  • Team Secret (direct invite)
  • (direct invite)
  • OG (direct invite)
  • Team Liquid (direct invite)
  • PSG.LGD Gaming (direct invite)
  • Ninjas in Pyjamas (direct invite)
  • Evil Geniuses (direct invite)
  • Forward Gaming (NA qualifiers winners)
  • TNC Predator (SEA qualifiers winners)
  • Keen Gaming (China qualifiers winners)
  • TBD (Europe +CIS qualifiers winners)

Related article:

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterCopy hyperlink